+1 (808) 968-1992
[email protected]

7 Hawaiian Huna Principles to Change Your Life

7 Hawaiian Huna Principles to Change Your Life 19 days ago

7 Hawaiian Huna Principles to Change Your Life

Huna is the Hawaiian word meaning a secret and it refers to the wisdom of ancient Polynesian cultures. Think of it as the original Polynesian blueprint for self development and righteousness. Ancient Hawaiians had a unique and simple way of approaching the subject.  It’s not a religion in any way, so if you are religious it’s not a replacement to your current beliefs. (Though it is where the word kahuna i.e. Hawaiian priest stems from). Instead, it’s a way to approach life through seven simple principles.

The 7 principles of Huna are:

  • IKE– The world is what you think it is
  • KALA– There are no limits, everything is possible
  • MAKIA – Energy flows where attention goes
  • MANAWA – Now is the moment of power
  • ALOHA – To love is to be happy
  • MANA – Power comes from within
  • PONO – Effectiveness is the measure of truth

There is some controversy about whether Hawaiians and other Polynesian cultures used the word “Huna” to refer to their esoteric knowledge. Some say that these teachings were originally called “Ho’omana”. Ho’o means to make and mana means life force, equivalent to Chi  (as in Tai Chi), or Kundalini/Shakti as known in Sanskrit. Together the word “Ho’omana” means empowerment or to empower.

The basic premise is to train your mind to think about how you want the world around you to be and embody it.  Be kind, be loving,  be pono, live in the present.  Why not use your time in Hawaii to ponder on each or some of the 7 principles.  Apply them to different aspects of your life and see what the universe sends your way in return.

Book your Hawaiian eco luxury getaway with Heart Core Hotels and relax on 6 acres of lush rainforest at our Big Island location: Volcano Eco Retreat! Book Now.